top of page

Life at university; trans edition

Written by Anonymous submission (he/him), First year History student.


Key terms


FTM: Female to Male

Cisgender: Identify with the same gender you were assigned to you at birth

HRT: Hormone Replacement Therapy – Testosterone or Oestrogen in order to medically transition


Being transgender shouldn’t deter you from coming to university or from having a full and positive experience.


I was once a prospective university student, unsure of how my experience would go and was full of anxiety, but university for me has been life changing. I want prospective and current students to know how university can support you on your journey. I am FTM transgender, and I started Hormone Replacement Therapy [HRT] with testosterone only a few days before I moved into my university accommodation. For me, this meant that starting university caused me anxiety about how I would be perceived and how my mental health would affect my ability to study. I moved into Lincoln Courts and my flat consisted of all Cisgender males apart from myself. However, my experience at university has been nothing but completely positive. Sometimes, I would be asked or questioned about my gender due to my appearance only weeks on testosterone. I would approach this by reassuring those that I am a male and I did not have to declare that I am trans and you do not have to either. The right to be male, female or gender non-conforming is ours and you have the right to self-identify. Those who refuse to respect you regardless of your point of transition can be reported to your tutor, to student well-being or hate crime can be reported on https://portalapps.lincoln.ac.uk/StudentServices/Hate%20Crime%20Reporting/SitePages/Home.aspx Thankfully, I have never had such instances and I am hopeful that no one else will either but please know that the university will support you and that it is taken extremely seriously.


Making friends at university


My friends at university are majority straight and cisgender. I understand the anxiety behind meeting people and wanting to remain stealth for your own personal reasons. How I managed this hurdle was straight-forward for me. When introducing myself I would sometimes be asked what my pronouns are because they were confused. I would reassure them that I am male and that my pronouns are He\Him and I did not introduce myself as trans. As my hormones started to make a significant difference to my voice and how I was perceived, people did not question me.


Hormonal treatment


Being on hormones at university can sometimes be unnerving, at least, it was for me. Would I be questioned on my use of needles? The truth is, needles could be used for a variety of health conditions and you most likely won’t be questioned if another student were to see your sharps box. If they did ask, you could try something like ‘I’d rather not talk about my health conditions” or “it’s just my medication”.


In terms of disposing needles, you must get a sharps box online or from your pharmacy and empty it when it is ¾ full or if it has been nine months since the first deposited injection. At least, this is what has been advised to me. You can enquire on how to have it collected through the university such as the Lincoln Health service or your tutor. It is dependent on where you are staying to study.

Sports


If you are worried about getting changed for a sport, rest be assured you can turn up to a training session dressed in your gear and can leave in the same gear to get changed and showered in the comfort of your accommodation. You will find that most students choose to do this anyway.


Support available to trans students


Please be aware that student well-being can offer you weekly sessions and have drop-in sessions from Monday – Friday between 12 and 2 PM and Thursday between 5 and 7. They can be contacted on student email or on 01522 886400.


There is a pride society which meets weekly that you can join through the SU website, or you can email them on your student email account.


The University of Lincoln Healthcare Service can support you in your medical transition or offer mental health advice. They can be called on 01522 870010. You will need to sign up to this service when you start university.


You can input your personal pronouns at the end of your email by inserting them into your ‘signature’ in outlook found in settings.


You can change your name via deed-poll and send it to administrations [ask your tutor] and have it changed online, on paper and on your student card.


Finally, SEDIC are here to represent you and your needs as a student.

bottom of page